Viralbpm - Embracing Electronic Sounds of Tomorrow

Positiva Records

Positiva Records is a subsidiary of EMI Records and concentrates on releasing dance music in the UK. The record label was set up in 1993, by Nick Halkes, who previously ran XL Recordings. Its headquarters are at the EMI offices in Brook Green in West London, where it is currently the only large dance music label under the EMI banner.

In its early days, Positiva released records from many names who were previously relatively unknown in the UK. One of the label’s first releases was “I Like To Move It” by Reel 2 Real, an alias of dance DJ Erick Morillo, originally released on Strictly Rhythm. Later, the label signed US vocalist Barbara Tucker, who went on to release tracks including “Beautiful People” and “Stay Together” (both 1995) and “Stop Playing With My Mind” (2000). Releases in the 2000s have included the number 1 hits “Toca’s Miracle” by Fragma, “Groovejet (If This Ain’t Love)” by Spiller featuring Sophie Ellis-Bextor, and “Lola’s Theme” by the Shapeshifters. Other top 10 hits in the same decade include Watergate’s “Heart Of Asia”, “Flashdance” by Deep Dish, Motorcycle “As the Rush Comes”, remixes of The Source feat. Candi Staton’s “You Got The Love” and “Watch The Sunrise” by Swedish DJ and producer Axwell.

Other artists who have been with the label for many years include Paul Van Dyk and The Shapeshifters, although the latter have since left to release tracks via Defected Records and concentrate on running their own Nocturnal Grooves label.

The label has since been resurrected by Universal Music Group as a trading name for Virgin Records’ and releases from foreign dance acts, such as Armin van Buuren, Avicii, Nicky Romero and Nervo.

Tiësto, Jonas Blue and Rita Ora Release 'Ritual'
All Posts

Tiësto, Jonas Blue and Rita Ora Release ‘Ritual’

GRAMMY® Award-winning, platinum-certified, international DJ and producer, Tiësto collaborates with pop powerhouse Jonas Blue and global superstar Rita Ora on the new song “Ritual” available everywhere now through Positiva/Virgin EMI Records. With an

Read More »
Close Menu